TBR

January TBR

This may be the most ambitious tbr I’ve ever come up with. I’m honestly not going to be surprised if I don’t get to every single one of these books this month but since I’m trying my best to dnf and remove things from my tbr, I’m going to be ruthless about putting these books down if I’m not enjoying them. The RNG also hasn’t been super kind this month but more on that in a sec. Good luck to me!

100+ Years of Books: 1975

I have no idea what Salem’s Lot is about, I just know it’s one of Stephen King’s horror novels from his heyday in the 70s. It’s one I remember seeing my mum reading when I was younger and the cover always stuck out to me. I enjoy a spooky read in the winter so I’m looking forward to this.

Challenges:
– 100+ Years of Books: 1975

Around the World: Palau

If I’m being honest, I’m fucking dreading The History of Palau. Thankfully it’s only around 60 pages but even so. I desperately needed to find a book either set in or about Palau and this is all I could find. Hopefully its tiny size will make it a bit less tedious.

Challenges:
– Around the World: Oceania – Palau

Genre Challenge: Horror – Psychological and Romance – Gothic

I’m really not looking forward to either of these. A second Stephen King in the same month?! The RNG must hate me. I started reading The Shining as a teen but found it to be incredibly dull so I’m hoping to get access to the audiobook to help it along. I’m also super intimidated by Wuthering Heights. It’s a lot longer than I thought so I’m hoping its a classic I enjoy.

Challenges:
– 100+ Years of Books: 1977
– Genres: Horror – Psychological
– Genres: Romance – Gothic

Author: Cory Doctorow

I was very happy that I got a graphic novel author as my author pick this month to break up the bigger books. I’m not entirely sure what In Real Life is but it looks like it has a nice art style regardless.

Goodreads Shelf: Classics

I was ready to cry when I pulled the classics shelf until I saw that Kindred is considered a classic. I’ve been desperate to try Octavia E. Butler for a while now so this is officially the book I’m the most excited to get to this month. I have huge hopes for it.

Challenges:
– 100+ Years of Books: 1979
– Priority TBR

Prompt: A book that has been adapted

The Woman in the Window is another one that I’m not really sure what the plot is. I have a vague idea that its about a woman who has agoraphobia who witnesses a crime? Maybe? I’m not 100% sure but I’ve been desperate to read this for years as I really want to watch the film.

Challenges:
– Priority TBR

Book club: The Appeal

This year a few family members wanted to start a book club which I’m sure will be fun. Unfortunately I’ve already read the first book we chose but it was such a fun read that I’m more than happy to read it again. I’m really hoping I can get the audiobook though so I don’t have to read it with my eyeballs again!

Try a chapter: Middlegame and The Fourth Monkey

In a bid to try a rid my tbr of books that I don’t like, I’m also going to do a couple of “try a chapters” at some point. I’m more confident that I’ll enjoy The Fourth Monkey than Middlegame but I don’t really care if I end up dnf-ing both of them!

Find me elsewhere:
Goodreads | Storygraph | Bluesky | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a comment